I didn’t have the guts to do it Capt’n

Instead I went out to try to find a hose to fit one of those tiny, not so impressively dangerous, Map gas bottle things.

014045324779lg

Because I was reading that some people use these for jewelry making. But my torch head doesn’t fit it even though the nice guy at Home Depot said he was 99% sure it would.

The only heads I can find are huge and will take your eyebrows off just by looking at them.

They do seem to sell a smaller head, but I think it’s too small for what I want to do – remember here.

So I wasted all morning.

:(

I tried to paint to cheer myself up.

I tried to be happy about the fact that, at long last, I was forced to concentrate on one thing instead of flitting from one medium to another.

That my brain could rest from the pull of making yet another piece of jewelry that I won’t know what to do with once it’s finished.

But, and even as I write this, I feel as though I’m in mourning, and that only by walking through the shadow of death to replace my tank will my life, once again, become meaningful.

(Too much?)

Oh well.

So today’s the day.

I’ll say my farewells to you all once more, and leave you with the mess that is my painting area which seems to have sprawled everywhere.

What will become of them if I blow up?

IMG_2683

IMG_2682

IMG_2681

IMG_2678

IMG_2677

IMG_2676

IMG_2675

IMG_2674

And this is but half of the stash I have in the other rooms.

-

To close I present to you Gustave the Wonder Horse.

To cheer you up.

IMG_2671

Will I ever see him again …

-

-

About coldfeetstudio

I am English, but live in Houston, TX. I have a degree in Sculpture. I love to make art. I sell my art for charity as I believe there should be no reason for someone to go hungry in this world. I am a wife, mother, pottery maker, jewelry maker, quilt maker, painter, cat lover, and, dog liker. And I am very fortunate to be all these things. View all posts by coldfeetstudio

5 responses to “I didn’t have the guts to do it Capt’n

  • Melissa @ Hilltop Hausfrau

    Oh dear. Be brave! I’m sure this is a daunting business, dealing with explosives and such.

    Your art is amazingly beautiful…great discovery for me!

    Popping over from the EBT…

    • coldfeetstudio

      Thank you Melissa.

      I’ve just made it back, in one piece I hope you’ll be pleased to learn, and have had to sit down to have a calming cup of tea.

      I might just have to have two.

  • nkcornett

    Good news- there IS a torch that will work with just the Mapp gas container! I also didn’t want to deal with the oxygen tanks, etc. The E-Z torch was reviewed by Andrew of “At The Bench”. (He’s in England so you’ll probably enjoy hearing someone pronounce the L in solder once again :). Here’s a link to his video. http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=3HtY-BxxFTc
    Sounded good to me. I got mine from Otto Frei. You want the one for the disposable tanks vs. refillable. I wish Mapp gas came in refillable tanks, sigh. I’m delighted with mine and, as you can see, have not blown up once.

    • coldfeetstudio

      Where were you yesterday! lol

      I’ve seen this guy before, but not this video.

      Well, as you might have already read, I swapped my tank for a full one yesterday. I had to come home, have a cup of tea and a lie down on the sofa to recover, but I’m raring to go this morning.

      Thanks for letting me know about it :) I appreciate it.

      p.s. Glad you haven’t blown up.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 191 other followers

