When did I become a (fat) blob? – or – What are you going to do, just stand there!

The problem is that I don’t look too bad with my clothes on, and, as I try not to look at myself naked (that’s just me) I kind of forget to pay attention. But suddenly, well over the past year or two, (that’s suddenly in big girl years), i’m getting a bit (o.k. a lot) flabby which doesn’t at all fit in with the super beautiful, classy, omg I wish I were her, image I’m going for.

I eat well – probably too well, but, and here’s the rub, I do not exercise. I hate exercise. I would rather have a root canal than exercise – o.k. maybe not. Sometimes I’m so still that, if you didn’t know any better, you might even think I’m dead – except my mouth moves a lot. I could easily get a part as a dead person in a movie or a stage play, except I don’t do well under stress, and sometimes I have to scratch something.

So, I have told the kids that they can’t get married until I’ve lost 25lbs. In fact, if they want to run away and just come back married that would be fine by me. In fact, why bother getting married at all – that was so ten years ago …

But, then I realised that that would be all about me, and at some point I have to give in to the fact that the kids are real people after all and not just some little people that hang around me all day.

So going back to the, what are you going to do, part of the problem. If you read my earlier post, you’ll see that I have a cunning plan. A wannado list. Which is to be the answer to everything. In fact the whole reason I started this blog in the first place was to be accountable to myself. If I blogged about it, I would do it – right? Well, first up, I haven’t done anything on my list – yet. Except I have been working on improving my jewelry and I did manage to get 100 peeps on face book, which isn’t really a good wannado but i’m going to count it anyway – oh, and I did clean the bathroom that one time.

Today’s post is to keep me accountable. I’m not going to say I’m failing at my wannado’s, but, that I seem to be motivationally challenged at the moment. I will say this, however, every day I wake up is a day closer to one of those kids getting married. I mean at 19, 21 and 22 now, how much longer do I have? Hopefully long enough to lose 25lbs.

So, the wannado list is back on, especially the 25lbs bit.

And here is what I’m working on today.

I know she looks a little bit scary.
And, as I finally finished The Secret History, what did I chose from here today?

Such a Pretty Girl, by Laura Wiess.
I’ll keep you posted …
About coldfeetstudio

I am English, but live in Houston, TX. I have a degree in Sculpture. I love to make art. I sell my art for charity as I believe there should be no reason for someone to go hungry in this world. I am a wife, mother, pottery maker, jewelry maker, quilt maker, painter, cat lover, and, dog liker. And I am very fortunate to be all these things. View all posts by coldfeetstudio

6 responses to “When did I become a (fat) blob? – or – What are you going to do, just stand there!

  • Sweet Posy Dreams

    Oh man, I’m right there with you on the need to lose some weight. I manage to walk about 30 minutes most mornings, but it doesn’t make up for the ice cream, etc. I don’t worry about kids’ weddings, it’s those beach vacations that scare me!

  • Julia

    Awe, Deb, you look great….I promise….(but I do understand the nakedness part….I don’t look either!….) and I gained at least 3 pounds since my knee surgery…so, I’m back in the gym and trying to get back on track…but, unlike you, I do love to exercise so at least I don’t have to fight that battle…just the sugar/carb battle…now where did I put my ice cream??!!

  • Amy

    I have a few bookshelves that look just like yours (well a bit messier, but just as crammed!). I hate exercise, too, but I’ve lost 17 pounds over the course of the past five months just walking. Yep, just walking! I use the Leslie Sansone videos where you can walk in place inside (and also doing other moves while you walk). It works! I’m now at the point where I don’t want to lose any more weight. I just want to maintain… I just thought I’d mention her videos since they worked for me!

    • coldfeetstudio

      thanks amy, i’m going to check them out.
      i just tried to comment on your blog, but must have been doing something wrong.
      I wanted to say how much I like first aid kit also, but only have two of their songs on my i pod. and that i’ve had to content myself with fleet foxes instead …

Leave a Reply

