For Lynda, and hungry people.

(That’s you Fresh Baked Designs.)

Actually a little bit is for you, just for encouragement.

So,

I was doodling, as I do, and decided to make one of these.

IMG_2456

Because, as you know, I’m procrastinating about cleaning the bathroom right now.

And so I got out my stash, (of which this is like a hundredth), and decided to pick two stones.

IMG_2457

This one,

Variscite with a little chrysoprase bead.

IMG_2461

And this one.

Mexican Crazy Lace. Which is one of my favourites.

(See Kelly, it’s not always green.)

IMG_2460

Then I had to dance.

You see I put Michael Jackson on, because I haven’t listened to him for ages, and it was so cold in the studio that when, Beat It, came on, I just went with it thinking it might warm me up.

Which it did, but I also had to dance through, You’re The One For Me, because I was that frozen.

It reminded me of when I was at college in England, when it was colder inside our house than outside and I’d open the window and lean out just to feel warmer, and sleep with my clothes under the bed sheets because I couldn’t bear for them to be cold in the morning, and how I would sway back and forth in my door way, as it seemed a little warmer there, in some ghoulishly freaky way.

I lived in a house with four other people, and when I’d get back from class, Phil was always the only one home. He was Jewish, and his mum used to make him all this delicious food, but I was never allowed to touch it unless he dished it out for me.

So, we’d have a cup of tea and some of his food, then put, You Can’t Hurry Love, by Phil Collins, on and lay down on the living room floor, and dance to warm up.

Floor dancing is so less embarrassing than standing up dancing. Especially if you can’t dance.

But,

back to the jewelry.

At first all went well. I’d bought some new solder chips which I hadn’t tried before, and some new, self pickling, flux, (which is great), and soldering the collar onto the backing went like a dream.

Where had this solder been all my life, and why am I so late catching onto things?

But it soon all went to pot because I’m stubborn, and when I know I should stop, I don’t, but continue on, and on, until I am so exasperated that I have to give up jewelry making again because I’m just no good at it.

Fortunately, in the nick of time, I came inside, made soup from a recipe my friend had shared with me, and had a glass of wine, because otherwise I may well have thrown out all of my tools.

Today I braced myself for day two working on the necklace from hell.

It’s still freezing, but no dancing for me this morning, oh no. That’s probably where it all went wrong yesterday. I was just too darn happy.

So, Lynda, just so you know, I spent two days trying to solder these little balls onto this necklace.

Two days.

And don’t even get me started on the leaf veins.

But.

DSCN9848

Yes, I’ve had to take up drinking again, and my back hurts, and I’ve gone into a little depression …

But I didn’t give in.

However, I’ve not even attempted to finish the variscite yet. I have abandoned it until my depression lifts.

You understand.

So, in celebration of my (questionable) success, I will share with you the soup recipe, which takes no time whatsoever, so you too can battle all day with your soldering and still not starve.

Chicken Taco Soup.

Chicken Breasts, boiled in seasoned water and shredded when cooked.

Onion, chopped and cooked in a big saucepan with olive oil until soft.

Next, add all of these ingredients, including the cooked chicken.

1 packet taco seasoning.

1 clove garlic, minced.

1 can stewed tomatoes.

1, 4oz can green, chopped chilies.

1 1/2 cups of water, or chicken broth, more if you want.

1, 8oz can or jar of green chili salsa. (I balk at this. Just sounds too much, so add what you want, I usually add half.)

1 can rinsed black beans.

1 can sweetcorn.

Cook all of this together until heated through, and serve with topping of broken corn chips, grated cheddar, chopped jalapeños, chopped tomatoes, and chopped white onion – if you wish.

Serve with crusty bread.

About coldfeetstudio

I am English, but live in Houston, TX. I have a degree in Sculpture. I love to make art. I sell my art for charity as I believe there should be no reason for someone to go hungry in this world. I am a wife, mother, pottery maker, jewelry maker, quilt maker, painter, cat lover, and, dog liker. And I am very fortunate to be all these things. View all posts by coldfeetstudio

11 responses to “For Lynda, and hungry people.

  • jesskawrites

    Necklace looks good :)

    You make me miss England you know :( I’m not sure how, really, but that’s the way it is. I think it’s less what you write and more how you write it.. whatever, I love getting your posts in my mailbox :)

    What on earth is taco seasoning??

    (Try tackling the bathroom for 2 minutes at a time when it’s not looking. They’re easier to fight if they don’t think you’re fighting. And besides, if you aim for 2 minutes you don’t get guilt tripped when you stop ;))

  • KerryCan

    I think it’s so cool how your jewelry pieces look like your paintings! You definitely have a style that is your own.

  • Fresh Baked Designs

    Hear that? That’s me, sniffling…all weepy and grateful. That you’d write this post with me (and those like me) in mind. Love your honest and humorous look at your work, design process, and ordinary matters of life.
    And if I’m reading this correctly, your secret to success is soup and wine, right? And occasional dancing. I can do that! Seriously love the variscite pendant with the leaf detail. You’ve also shown me the value of real sized
    pre-drawing a design with the stone…never thought of that and makes total sense. Thanks so much for sharing your art with us. And I’m definitely going to give that soup a try very soon. BTW…do I call you Cold Feet? Can’t seem to find another name.

  • Ellen

    i have a recipe very close to this and I love making it on cloudy, blustery days. (Here in Florida it doesn’t get what I call “soup cold”). Mine calls for an envelope of ranch dressing–really seems to add something!

    Also, don’t sell your jewelry short! I love your designs!!!

    • coldfeetstudio

      Hi Ellen,

      It doesn’t get very ‘soupy’ here often, except this year has been a little different, I think. The climate everywhere seems to be changing.

      Now, for more important thoughts. The ranch dressing sounds really, really weird! I’m not even sure I can get my head around giving it a go, but I will trust you that it adds something :)

      Nice to hear from you :)

Leave a Reply

