Funk, funk, funkity funk.

Yep, it’s that time again.

I’m in a funk.

This one has been lingering for some time now. A good month or so. Hence the lack of posts I suppose.

This is the time when I give up everything.

Jewelry, because I’m no good at it.

Painting, because I’m more than no good at it.

And everything else, because it’s all boring.

I sometimes think it’s because I go, go, go, and then it all collapses, like a balloon deflating.

I actually think now that it’s part of my makeup. I get to do all my creative stuff and then have to rest. Except, when I rest I get in a funk.

I still go in the studio and make stuff. It’s getting into the studio that’s the problem.

So, I’m writing this post today to pretend that I’m not in a funk.

Wallowing time over people.

It’s time to move onwards and upwards.

I’ve been working on enameling.

IMG_2871

The colours on these were perfect, straight out of the jar colours, to begin with, but I found them too boring, so after the enamel had set I heated them from the top. These were cream to begin with and as I passed the flame over them they started to bubble, and I suppose burn a little, as the cream turned this nice ochre colour.

I was much happier with these. I’m sure the purist enamelist out there will disagree, but I really have become more and more able to try to forget the rules. Simply put, if it works for you and you like the end result, it doesn’t really matter how you get there.

My new mantra.

These ones had a little mishap, and the enamel chipped off the right one. I’ve fixed them now, and so experienced another learning curve.

IMG_2869

Now these ones (below) might look like a mistake, but it was actually intentional. They’re not particularly my favourite, but I’m enjoying experimenting with different outcomes.


IMG_2874

Below is an ongoing project for me to practice chasing and repousse.

I’m going to try to make a box. I’m enjoying it as suddenly I found it easier to have the tools ‘chase’ along the metal instead of digging in and going nowhere fast. Not a great outcome yet, but it’s definitely becoming easier with practice.

I kind of like this box as it reminds me of those samplers that children made back in the day where they honed their sewing skills.

Blood and all.

IMG_2875

Finally I present to you.

Willow.

Who is completely shattered after doing absolutely nothing all day except for digging in the dirt and getting filthy.

IMG_2864

Man it’s a hard life.

IMG_2865

And, the not often photographed Pickles.

Who only allowed me this one shot if I promised not to show all of her fat.

IMG_2852

She’s a bit of a diva in that respect.

About coldfeetstudio

I am English, but live in Houston, TX. I have a degree in Sculpture. I love to make art. I sell my art for charity as I believe there should be no reason for someone to go hungry in this world. I am a wife, mother, pottery maker, jewelry maker, quilt maker, painter, cat lover, and, dog liker. And I am very fortunate to be all these things. View all posts by coldfeetstudio

2 responses to “Funk, funk, funkity funk.

  • pennystreasures

    Oh yes, these are nice! I like the rustic look of the enamel. It makes them more interesting than the perfectly smooth surface and color that the kiln firing produces. And I absolutely love the chasing and repousse work on the piece for your box. I’ve never done chasing and repousse but that is something I would love to learn. Have you finished the box? I would love to see it! I made a box as one of my projects when I first started taking the metalsmithing classes. It’s a shame I don’t know where it’s at though….probably packed away in another box in the garage somewhere.

    • coldfeetstudio

      I haven’t finished the box. I tend to have a go, and then stop for a while when it’s something new. It’s messy and smelly, but I’m determined to finish something on it and I like the idea of a box.

      I like the rustic look also. When I made them they were a perfect colour and I thought they were boring. So I brought my flame over to the top instead of the bottom, as the book said, and had at it until I got something I liked :)

Leave a Reply

