Someone please help me now …

I’ve still been potting.

I made a few more boxes.

(I don’t like this one)

IMG_3089

IMG_3088

IMG_3082

IMG_3083

IMG_3077

IMG_3078

IMG_3081

And the neat thing about this shape is

IMG_3074

That it’s round when you look down on it.

IMG_3075

I’ve also made a few bowls.

IMG_3086

IMG_3085

A plate.

IMG_3092

I’ve been experimenting with glazing.

IMG_3090

IMG_3093

And now they’re all in the kiln waiting for some more friends.

IMG_3097

I’ve included some of N’s pots so that I can have more to experiment on.

Don’t tell her.

And that’s about it really.

Three weeks now until my dad comes to visit. Four until my sister comes to join us.

Let’s hope that this year I don’t go on an internet rock hunting buying spree because I can’t get into the studio while they’re here.

I’ve told you about my ‘stash’, and how I’m worried it might blow up your computers if I show it to you.

Because of the sheer volume of it.

Well, perhaps I need to start fessing up as my first step to recovery.

Last week I even sorted them into types. Do you think it’s getting a little out of hand?

IMG_3050

Actually, it does make it easier for me to see what I have.

Perhaps this will help prevent me from buying more … one can only hope.

So here they are.

(Don’t look at them Danielle!)

Mexican Crazy Lace is one of my favourite stones. So you see, I have to buy them.

Not my fault.

(Don’t tell anyone, but I just got four more which haven’t quite made it to the sock drawer yet.)

IMG_3052

Shattuckite, ChrysocollaChrysoprase, Turquoise, and Variscite.

Now tell me.

Who wouldn’t buy these?

IMG_3054

IMG_3055

Red Creek Jasper.

Just look at them!

IMG_3053

Brecciated Mookaite.

For when a girl’s just got to have a touch of ‘lellow’ in her life … and when asked about the stone she wears is also able to say the words,

brecciated mookaite!

IMG_3056

Ocean Jasper, Imperial Jasper, Poppy Jasper, Agate SlicesMexican Rhyolite, Howlite, and Druzy’s.

IMG_3058

Coral Fossil.

See. This isn’t so bad. They only have a half card.

IMG_3060

African Green Opals hanging out with that blue multi coloured Amazonite one.

These are also big favs. Got to love an opal.

IMG_3062

Tiffany Stone, Amethyst (for when it’s not banned from the studio), Sugilite, and

IMG_3061

Labradorite.

See. There are only three of these!

IMG_3063

And lastly, Prudent Man Plume Agate, Moss Agate, and some little special turquoise stones.

Beautiful.

IMG_3059

All packed neatly into their little drawers.

IMG_3064

Where I can find them easily.

IMG_3066

Not quite as organized as my bench, but close.

IMG_3068

IMG_3069

So there’s only one thing for it.

I’m going to have to start getting up one hour before I go to bed to be able to set all of them.

Wally is exhausted just thinking about it.

IMG_3046

And poor Willow.

I doubt she’ll be able to get up off that foot stool any time soon.

IMG_3044

Dont’ judge me!

It’s a legitimate problem that only rock hounds understand.

And psychiatrists.

About coldfeetstudio

I am English, but live in Houston, TX. I have a degree in Sculpture. I love to make art. I sell my art for charity as I believe there should be no reason for someone to go hungry in this world. I am a wife, mother, pottery maker, jewelry maker, quilt maker, painter, cat lover, and, dog liker. And I am very fortunate to be all these things. View all posts by coldfeetstudio

6 responses to “Someone please help me now …

  • daniross0413

    LOL! Girl your posts make me laugh most every morning. Those stones are BEAUTIFUL! I will be going to a gem show next month, so I am sure I will be bringing home the loot myself. I just finished a piece using prudent man agate and I work with labradorite quite a bit (it’s probably one of my favorites). Get busy, you have a lot of jewelry to design.

  • KerryCan

    You’re the only person I know who has more hobbies than I do. It must be so hard to get up in the morning and decide which direction to go! I completely understand about the stones. To complicate my life, my husband actually does lapidary so I have even more around and I haven’t been into the studio in ages.

    • coldfeetstudio

      Oh god, I’d love to do some lapidary. I bought the slab, now I just have to set my mind to it. I love the concept of making all the components of a piece yourself. Of course, mining the silver might be a little tricky.
      As for knowing which direction to go each morning. Sometimes, on the more overwhelming days, I just have to stay in bed lol. Not going into the studio can be worse however, as that’s when I hatch my most magnificent plans …

  • jesskawrites

    I love how your style is so distinctive regardless of the medium :)

    • coldfeetstudio

      :) I used to think I was all over the place with what I do, but I have noticed recently that there is a pattern to it after all, just not the one I was expecting. I have resigned myself to making works of quirk, a style which seems to typify my outlook on life. Kind of sad really as I always wanted to be a serious artist ;)

Leave a Reply

