Why I should never leave the house.

I had a little problem over the weekend.

It was called the Houston Gem and Jewelry Show, and it has a lot to answer for.

I’m still in shock, and will have to take a day or two to recover, so I’m not going to talk about that now.

Stay tune to see if I survived the terror of the shop till you drop incident.

In other news.

I made another encaustic.

IMG_3213

I’m getting more used to it now.

Don’t you think that looks like a Jet Jetson t.v.? I’ve never seen that show, but I’ve seen pictures.

The-Jetsons-300x215

See.

And I made a finger painting.

IMG_3212

Because brushes are too over rated.

I finished a piece of jewelry.

IMG_3208

Turquoise, Tourmaline, and Ruby.

Remember when it was like this.

IMG_2995

And this.

IMG_2958

And finally, I wanted to share with you a favourite painting that always makes me stop a moment to feel good.

c4e782d3abb9a57332d1ac74af9ab31f

It’s the colours that get me, and the hill.

I just really like Dora Carrington’s work.

dora-carrington-tidmarsh-milll-new

I also unloaded the kiln so more to come

dah, dah, dah, dahhhhhh!

(O.K. so that doesn’t make sense unless you pretend we’re in a suspense movie.

And then it still doesn’t make sense … )

About coldfeetstudio

I am English, but live in Houston, TX. I have a degree in Sculpture. I love to make art. I sell my art for charity as I believe there should be no reason for someone to go hungry in this world. I am a wife, mother, pottery maker, jewelry maker, quilt maker, painter, cat lover, and, dog liker. And I am very fortunate to be all these things. View all posts by coldfeetstudio

7 responses to “Why I should never leave the house.

  • Ellen Killinger

    Well, I’m with you on feeling overwhelmed… ;-) but it was fun! Right? Just need to get busy creativing!!!

  • nkcornett

    I continue to be amazed at your prolificness. I’ve been spending a lot of time in the studio, but not finishing anything. Lots of experiments (that are fun) but nothing to take to the gallery where I sell my work. Thank goodness I’m retired and not trying to support myself with this stuff. But I still need to keep my gallery area well stocked or they’ll give some of it to other artists who are more productive than me.
    I’m anxious to find out what that rotten Houston Gem & Jewelry show did to cause you problems. I suspect it has something to do with an excessive # of stones ending up in your bags. Gem and Jewelry shows can be ruthless like that.
    Oh, and thanks for the dah, dah/suspense movie giggle this morning. It DID make sense to me. I do so appreciate a free-associating sense of humor.

    • coldfeetstudio

      O.K. Nancy, you are still tickling my imagination. I keep looking to your blog for some lovelies, and the cupboard is bare …
      I’m jealous that you’ve got a gallery. I’m too chicken lol

      • Nancy Cornett

        Oh Geeze, what blog are you looking at? Oh, probably the WordPress one. Well, it is just 1 of 3 unfinished blogs that I have floating around out there. I’ve been working on setting up a web page but ran into horrific tech problems. I’m actually meeting with my sister/graphic designer this weekend to get this one up and published (I HOPE!) Towards that end, I’ve started uploading some pics to my Flickr account so she can transfer them to the page we’re building. You can see some current work there. There are also some pics of the gallery where I volunteer, teach, and sell my work. My Flickr account page is: https://www.flickr.com/photos/nancycornett/sets.

        When my new page gets set up I’ll send you a link.

  • Penny Cordova

    I totally agree with you on the “I should never leave the house” thing, especially not to go to the Houston Gem and Jewelry show!!! I used to go to at least 2 shows out of the 3 or 4 times they come to Houston every year, and I had to just force myself to stop going altogether! I never managed to leave there without spending at least $700 on gemstones, etc. I think I have enough stuff to last me for the rest of my life! But nevertheless, if I do venture out to the show again, I know I will inevitably end up spending another $700 on new gemstones that “I just have to have” or “I cannot live without!” It’s ridiculous…my lack of self control when it comes to rocks!

    • coldfeetstudio

      I promised myself about six months ago that I wouldn’t buy anymore books or gems. Silver was o.k. as and when I ran out of it. Well, that was short lived! Oh well. Glad to know someone else has the same problem. I’m pretty sure most of the people there yesterday have too. I’ve just put the beads all away into their little compartments, and of course I forgot to photograph them. I was going to share my goodies on here, but my getting old memory got in the way :)

      Nice to hear from you :)

    • coldfeetstudio

      I love your cuffs. I’ve made one or two but haven’t really got into them yet, but I do love piercing and sawing as in your silver pieces. I also haven’t done an awful lot of etching either, since the little acid eating through the counter incident, but it’s on my to do list :)

Leave a Reply

