My brain on art.

So again, I throw all the wax I have at the board and am like.

Wow, this is the best. I think I’ve finally found my medium.

IMG_3401

Then I’m like.

Darn I’m no good at this, I’ll never find my medium.

So I go back to the pastels and I’m like.

Wow, how could I have ever left you. This is the best!

IMG_3396

And I just know that I’ve found my medium.

IMG_3398

Then I’m like,

Dam’ I’ll never be any good at this, how could I have ever thought it could be my medium.

So I go back to the encaustic table and I’m like

IMG_3401

Wow! This is the stuff for me.

Then I finish up for the day and walk into the house and say to P as I pass him in the kitchen.

I’m giving up art.

And he just laughs, and I’m like

WHAT?!!!!

And go off to sulk in the other room …

About coldfeetstudio

I am English, but live in Houston, TX. I have a degree in Sculpture. I love to make art. I sell my art for charity as I believe there should be no reason for someone to go hungry in this world. I am a wife, mother, pottery maker, jewelry maker, quilt maker, painter, cat lover, and, dog liker. And I am very fortunate to be all these things. View all posts by coldfeetstudio

14 responses to “My brain on art.

  • Vicki Homer

    Some of our struggles seem to be for ourselves, mostly. My several-year effort to create a backyard that’s heaven on earth for butterflies and hummingbirds, for example. It’s the challenges within creative process, sometimes, that’s most interesting for ourselves. Your wax creation at the top of this page is quite nice…..it’s good as it is, but I find myself thinking, “what a wonderful quilt this would make!!” Do you sometimes go back and forth? — creating in one medium, then transferring the ideas to another?

    With the magic you perform on a regular basis with your metalwork, I see that you often start an idea with one art form (sketches), and then transfer it to your metalwork.

    But neither the metalwork or a quilt would easily translate that luscious quality of light that glows in your caustic work. (Oh, I’m sounding like a suck-up — don’t want to be!!!)

    That’s why collages work so well so often, I guess. The artist gets to combine the best features of various forms of art.

    • coldfeetstudio

      The more I make the more I’ve begun to realize that really I’m just making one art. It appears that everything I make is joined by a common theme which has surprised me as I didn’t know that I had this innate silliness in me which translates into such bright colours and funky jewelry. As much as it frustrates me to be all over the place with my art, I would never have known this about myself if I hadn’t tried every single art form out there!!! I don’t know if this is a good thing or a bad thing. Perhaps my silliness should be kept locked away for the safety of mankind ;)

  • Beth

    Your art should never die, so don’t give up on it. I understand the frustrations you are experiencing. I feel the same at times. I am glad to have read your blog today. The feeling about giving up happens to the best of us, but we don’t. The creating will stop one day, when the end happens. Just keep on creating to spite those feelings, because it keeps the journey of life more enjoyable, but frustrating at times. I always know when I am learning and that is when I am frustrated. You are just going through a learning experience. It is your journey, so make it a creative one.

  • Ellen Killinger

    The tormented artisit. The next step is to cut off your ear! ;-)

  • Sally G

    Your unembellished, quick-to-the-point notes on what it’s like to be human are pure delight. That’s why I signed up to follow your blog after reading a few weeks ago about the necklace that went through the wash.

    You inspire me to try not to be too flowery when I write. Don’t want my readers sneezing and deciding they’re allergic to my stuff.

    It’s really hard for me to use the word stuff.

    • coldfeetstudio

      Noooooooo, Sally, I love the one entry on your blog! (O.K. so it’s three). You write beautifully, and I don’t know why you stopped :( I for one need to know how you’re handling life now. I’m only a decade behind you, but it’s all creeping (read speeding) up and kind of annoying me. I need all the life views I can get, and it’s especially a treat to read it from someone who lulls you into their life the way you write it. I don’t think there are many blogs with such long posts that I have read through to the end. Hence my attempt to keep them short. I even read your last one through twice, it was written so well.

      O.K. so comment back and give me a darn good reason why you stopped. It better be good. People are out here waiting to know about what’s going on with you. You just can’t leave us hanging like that ….

      By the way, I think you were meant to write, so if not here, I hope somewhere.

      • Sally G

        You win, Deborah. And so do I!

        Last month I actually started writing a post to resurrect my long-dead blog. I told my husband what I was up to — he asked what I was writing about — I answered: why I hadn’t published a post in two years — and he laughed.

        Sounds eerily familiar doesn’t it? It worked like a small hail storm on butterfly wings. Everyone will wonder why I wrote about such an inconsequential matter, I thought.

        But for you, Deborah, I will finish and publish that post sometime this month. And get this: I have ALREADY included how discovering your blog encouraged me to write again!

      • coldfeetstudio

        lol can’t wait to read it. Let me know when it’s up.

Leave a Reply

