So

The other day I made an inny and an outy.

IMG_3720

Which I’m thinking of making more of in different designs.

I keep toying with the idea of selling wholesale, but can’t quite get my head around it.

Do I really want to make the same stuff over again, or do I just want to make my one of a kind jewelry pieces?

I could do both.

I could sell my one of a kind jewelry pieces at wholesale, but how much can I push the price I want for them when I have to sell them at fifty percent of the retail price?

That’s the bit I can’t figure out. They take me a long while and I don’t just want to give them away.

So it boils down to what am I worth, and can I stand firm to that?

That’s pretty hard for me.

I’m thinking something is in the air though if I want to save the world.

Selling a piece here and there isn’t going to eradicate world poverty now is it!

I’m also dithering on a website.

My life, I tell you.

Here’s another piece of amethyst.

The stone is gradually winning its way back into favour.

IMG_3770

Amethyst Slice and Chrysoprase

And a bracelet.

IMG_3704

Green Opals, Emeralds and Thai Silver

I think I might make another bracelet today.

Maybe.

The prudent man is still waiting.

So the boy woke me up at four last night with a bum call.

Actually I woke up all on my own, but happened to check my phone and saw that there had been a call from him an hour before.

With a no voice voice message which sounded like windshield wipers going in the pouring rain in that, I’ve had a bad accident and am upside down in a ditch, way.

No screaming though which was a bit of a relief.

Of course I knew he was O.K., but he had mentioned going to a bar last evening, and, mum that I am, I just knew he was in hospital or something horrible and he needed me. But then why would the message stop at three seconds? Surely he would have said something, like ouch. So maybe he wasn’t in an accident, but was being attacked and tried to call home but had his phone ripped from his hands and stomped on by the bad guy which had effectively ended the call at three seconds …

Could happen.

But I knew he was o.k. and that it was just a bum call, but …

So I got up, had some juice, and worried some more until I decided that, yes he was twenty one but that didn’t mean he could bum call me at three o’clock in the morning and not expect me to have to text him and asked him if he’d bum called me so that I could go back to sleep again?

Right?

Amazingly he replied almost immediately. He had bummed me, and he had also taken some sixty pocket photographs.

Still couldn’t go back to sleep though.

Update on the strange, what are you really doing here, painting.

IMG_3756

And I’m off.

Talk to you later.

About coldfeetstudio

I am English, but live in Houston, TX. I have a degree in Sculpture. I love to make art. I sell my art for charity as I believe there should be no reason for someone to go hungry in this world. I am a wife, mother, pottery maker, jewelry maker, quilt maker, painter, cat lover, and, dog liker. And I am very fortunate to be all these things. View all posts by coldfeetstudio

8 responses to “So

  • Keirsten

    You crack me up! Bum calls and pocket photographs. I have the same questions about wholesale–sounds like a real slog, and a potential one way ticket to the poorhouse! Plus there’s the whole pounding the pavement/getting the accounts part–ICK! Your inny and outy are fabulous, but I REALLY love your painting. I would hang it on my wall in a flash and stare at it lots.

  • nkcornett

    Here’s my two cents. From what little I’ve gotten to learn about you from reading your blog and email chatting – don’t go the wholesale route!! True, selling a little something here and there isn’t going eradicate world poverty. Neither is selling a million somethings for way less than they are worth (or even as much as they are worth). This is especially true if it involves you doing the same thing again and again every day, and wearing down your soul in the process. Look how your creativity wants to jump from one form of media to another right now. I think you’d be miserable churning out repetitive pieces in one studio every day. Your brain doesn’t seem wired for mass production (neither is mine.) Your beautiful jewelry style is made to OOAK – or close to it. Certainly not mass produced. You are doing wonderful things in your multiple studios and for your charities. Sure, you could always do more. Everybody could always do more. It doesn’t necessarily follow that they should You do way more than most – and YOU DO ENOUGH.

    Whew, that certainly came spewing out. A bit of a surprise, that was! But it shouldn’t be. I’m working on this topic right now for myself. I’ve gotten far enough that I can see the truth and beauty of it – and see how it holds true for other good souls – and even sporadically how it is true for me. As a wise friend often says to me, “Give yourself a break! You’re harder on yourself than anybody else is.” She’s right. I’m trying. Wanna try, too?

    How about we give ourselves a gift today and (to the best of our ability, no perfection needed) appreciate what we do rather than focusing on what we think we could do better, or different, or more?

    • coldfeetstudio

      Nancy, thank you.

      I think you are right, and I think that’s why I have procrastinated for so long about wholesale. Always in the back of my mind is that I will be doing something soul destroying. I made up a wholesale order once, just for a random person who asked, and I hated every minute of it. It wasn’t even a large order. I think I just get side tracked by the fact that my life seems so easy, and I have some guilt about that. Sometimes I think that I also want to prove to myself that I can do it. I can work at a business and make it work.

      I think I worry about it too much ;)

  • Sally G

    You’ve already gotten great comments. I agree with Nancy’s comments about selling wholesale and eradicating world poverty. And I agree with Keirsetn about the jewelry and the painting. The latter doesn’t seem strange at all after looking at Picasso’s stuff!

Leave a Reply

