So

I’m feeling excited.

We had the art fair on Saturday. It was a brilliant day. The weather was great. A bit hot but nothing like usual. Loads of people came out, and a few came back to see me which was kind of nice.

I made $2,000 which is the best I’ve made yet.

And that’s with the afternoon being really slow with no sales after 4 pm I’d say.

I’ve just added up what I’ve sold since my last donation to Care, and that’s another $1,300,

Sooooooo

I can send off $3,000!

I can hardly stand it

:)

This time I was selling for Save the Children and the Ebola Orphans.

E was helping me and said I couldn’t tell anyone that though because the Ebola word is not nice.

Personally I think people need to know these things and it’s important to me, but for E’s sake I didn’t really go there on Saturday but every so often couldn’t help mentioning it.

Sorry E.

My booth looked better than normal. I’d fitted the cloth and put all of the jewelry in boxes. I actually think this helped with selling it. Everything looked cleaner and easier to take in. Usually it’s a bit all over the place.

E took a photo.

1002498_10205016952089468_1282179741563763753_n

It was really nice to see a noticeable difference as the table started to clear.

So that’s my news.

This week I’ve the dentist, the doctors, and all that good stuff, but I think I’m going to have a good sort out and get myself organized.

Or

Maybe I’ll read a book.

:)

About coldfeetstudio

I am English, but live in Houston, TX. I have a degree in Sculpture. I love to make art. I sell my art for charity as I believe there should be no reason for someone to go hungry in this world. I am a wife, mother, pottery maker, jewelry maker, quilt maker, painter, cat lover, and, dog liker. And I am very fortunate to be all these things. View all posts by coldfeetstudio

17 responses to “So

  • Patti Vanderbloemen

    Awesome news on your show stats – I am down to only one show per year – cannot stand going to them anymore. I get bogged down with “I can make that cheaper” or, ewwwww, you used copper?! LOL! Humans can be so cruel sometimes!

    And, congrats on your ongoing donations – you go girl!

    btw: LOVE how you set up your jewelry in the boxes – never seen this before…I like it!! :)

    • coldfeetstudio

      I only do this one show and it’s twice a year. I find it exhausting and I can barely walk the next day as my whole body aches. I think it’s because of the heat here in Houston. And I have to change my clothes at least once as I get so hot.

      I was only asked once this time to lower my price, I did it on one item for her, but not the other, and she was fine with it. I often wonder why people do that yet wouldn’t dream of it if it was in a shop or gallery. It embarrasses me as then I feel bad about my prices or for saying no.

      Oh well :)

  • Gale White

    It all looks beautiful, and I’m glad so many visitors realized it. I should think most were happy to help rather than be scared by ebola.

  • leciaw63

    Congratulations! I’m a new fan/follower & I’m in love with your jewelry! Your style is so unique & fun! Thank you for sharing your design process as I am a newbie (ugh!) & it’s really so helpful to me to see the step by step pictures & explanations of how you create! Really it’s invaluable! I also think that it’s so terrific that you donate to charities! I’m not at that point in my career but it definitely gives me something to shoot for! Thanks again! By the way, I love all of your creative endeavors!

  • pennystreasures

    Wow, congratulations for doing so well at the art fair! That’s awesome! I love how you have your jewelry in the boxes ready for gift giving. It lets people see how the items will look to the gift recipient, if they are purchasing it as a present for someone. And it makes it easier for them buy eliminating the step of having to find a box….now all they have to do is wrap it or tie a ribbon around it.

    I would love to know which art show it was. I am just starting out doing shows for the first time this fall, and the two I’ve done so far have not been good. I agree with you about it being exhausting! I had a show on Saturday also, and from getting up at the crack of dawn (actually way before dawn), to struggling with putting up the canopy, to sitting outside in the heat all day, I was so tired afterwards. And yesterday I was out of commission….my whole body was sore, I was exhausted, even a little depressed because I felt like it was a whole lot of work for nothing (I only had a couple sales)! I would welcome any advice you could give as to which shows are the best, with the most traffic, and where the people are coming to buy.

    • coldfeetstudio

      Penny :)

      I only do Market Street in The Woodlands. It’s twice a year in April and October. It’s worth checking out. The fee is $150. It’s one day, 10 – 7 and they provide the tents.

      Contact is Vanessa Johnson,

      9595 Six Pines Drive. Suite 6390 The Woodlands. TX 77380

      281.419.4774 main | 832.592.1036 direct | 281.419.4749 fax

      vjohnson@trademarkproperty.com

      I didn’t do well in any of the churches although I tried for many years lol St. Ignatius was really bad for me, and I can’t remember Cypress Christian Church. If I’m able to I’d love to pop by and see you :)

      I’m in the process of looking for a house in The Heights, so I’d love to know how the show goes there.

      Deborah.

      • pennystreasures

        Thank you so much for this info on the Woodlands show, Deborah! I will definitely apply to the spring show. And I will let you know how the show tomorrow in the Heights goes! I’m hoping for the best, and I’m excited that it will be nice cool, crisp fall weather tomorrow! Happy Halloween…..have a fun and safe evening!

        Penny

  • ihrv

    Your work is lovely. I think the prices look very fair, and the quality is stunning. Don’t feel bad about a thing. Job well done. I wish I owned a piece of your art.

  • nkcornett

    Congrats on the show. Like everyone else, I really like your display, too. You’ve inspired me. All the earrings I sell are on wires that I can hang on my cards. I sometimes make other types of ear wires but could never figure out how to get them to hang properly – tried lots of methods but they all looked kind of funky. When I saw your boxed display it hit me that not all my earrings need to be on the same type of display. I can put the ones that don’t hang well in boxes. Heck, I even have the perfect sized boxes that I use for something else. It’s funny how my mind can get tunneled on one option and not see the obvious. Thanks for the jolt!

    Oh, and I’ve seen the necklace in progress and finished on your blog – loved it then. But seeing it standing up so bright and proud on its elegant black velvet background – well, it takes it to a whole new level. I do love your style.

  • KerryCan

    Great news all around, Deborah! Your productivity, and generosity, are amazing!

Leave a Reply

