Tiffany is off to her forever home.

Good bye.

I won’t say good riddance because I believe she was brought kicking and screaming into this world for a reason.

As a reminder to always trust my instincts.

A whole month ago I sent off one of my favourite bracelets to Washington.

IMG_3873

But she never arrived

:(

Finally I found out the tragic truth.

That she was lost forever on this vast place we call Earth.

Although I hate to admit it I think it was my fault.

I posted it on Columbus Day, because even though I’ve lived here for twenty five years now I never can remember which holiday is which and when it’s going to happen.

I always accused the kids of lying to me when I found them still in bed on school days.

It took a lot of convincing on their part for me to finally believe that it was actually a bank holiday and that they weren’t just trying to pull a fast one on me.

So it only occurred to me that it was a holiday after I admit to being slightly horrified that the postman/lady/crossgender, (also known as gender fluid), still hadn’t emptied the post box at three in the afternoon.

What were they doing! I had important things to post.

So I stuffed my package into the full to brimming post box (does it mind being called a box?) and sat in my car looking at it.

I almost took it out again. Federal offense or not.

But my ever optimist self decided that it would be completely safe until the post person finally decided to make an appearance.

Always trust your instincts people, and brush up on your bank holiday trivia.

I believe now that my lovely aquamarine favourite bracelet was taken.

I hope that if this is the case that the person needed it, and that it will spend many fine years with them, or, more likely be sold off to pay for something else that they need badly.

Like a kick up the backside.

Goodbye dear friend and may you ever know that you were once loved.

(Too much?)

So, the very nice lady, whom I’d been in contact with throughout this trying period, told me that she would take Tiffany as a replacement. Even though she had read about her harrowing delivery into this world.

I can’t lie, it almost brought a tear to my eye.

Almost.

So now she’s off, and yes, with a little good riddance, but also with some gratitude.

So to all my good cyber space friends

May you all keep in good health and never stuff your packages into overflowing post vessels.

About coldfeetstudio

I am English, but live in Houston, TX. I have a degree in Sculpture. I love to make art. I sell my art for charity as I believe there should be no reason for someone to go hungry in this world. I am a wife, mother, pottery maker, jewelry maker, quilt maker, painter, cat lover, and, dog liker. And I am very fortunate to be all these things. View all posts by coldfeetstudio

4 responses to “Tiffany is off to her forever home.

Leave a Reply

