The news…

Not a lot going on over here.

We had Thanksgiving of course which, even after twenty-five years of living in the U.S. still doesn’t feel like a holiday for me. But, I do feel more festive now that it’s over so I think it really has become a marker for me to let the games begin.

I almost want to say that I feel more excited about Christmas this year than I did when all the kids were living here, but it sounds kind of wrong.

Don’t ask me what’s going on there.

I think it might be to do with appreciating everything more.

I’ve even got all of the gifts under control which is really weird.

I have to say that I’m just feeling, well – good.

EVEN though I’ve just been told by the nice doctor that I have osteoarthritis which really hurts everything including my elbows and kneecaps, AND I have Achille’s tendonitis, which I’ve had for years and years and years, but over the past year or so has gradually gotten to the point where it’s becoming hard to walk without having to mutter, ouchy, ouchy, ouchy, under my breath while hobbling around like a little old hobbly lady.

I’m really not that old.

I thought 53 was the new 40! Someone obviously forgot to tell the joint god.

So much for running the Boston marathon next year. Good job it was only in. my. dreams…

Talking of which,

I wrote a fantastic poem in my dream this morning.

It was wonderful.

My play of words surprised even me with their depth of meaning and their beautiful cadence.

I just knew that it was going to be the beginning of my brilliant, unexpected yet undeniable, new poet laureate career.

But I forgot it.

Man!

Just when I thought I had it made.

Not a lot going on in the studio right now.

That’s not so bad as I feel I should spend some time in the house. P’s mum is coming next week for Christmas so I think I’m trying to tone myself down for some family time.

I’m looking forward to it.

I’ve made my $25,000 so I’m going to let myself off the hook for a while.

Next year.

$30,000 and onward.

It’s good to have a goal.

:)

Some newbies.

IMG_4452

Coral Fossil

IMG_4436

Rhodochrosite

And a couple of old ones which I still really like.

IMG_4515

Copper and Silver

IMG_4479

Copper and Silver

About coldfeetstudio

I am English, but live in Houston, TX. I have a degree in Sculpture. I love to make art. I sell my art for charity as I believe there should be no reason for someone to go hungry in this world. I am a wife, mother, pottery maker, jewelry maker, quilt maker, painter, cat lover, and, dog liker. And I am very fortunate to be all these things. View all posts by coldfeetstudio

14 responses to “The news…

  • Sally G

    53 is much too young to hobble. I hope that in the new year you fall upon an antidote when you’re not even looking for it. (I love serendipitous discoveries!) I was missing your blog, so it’s nice to read what isn’t happening. :) Keep feeling good!

    • coldfeetstudio

      Ha Sally! I loved the political merry-go-round post. I also saw, for the first time, that you had replied to my comment on the pinterest post. Yes indeedy a few drinks would be fun…if I could just hobble over of course.

  • wiredweirdly

    At 42, I have terrible Achilles tendonitis and osteoarthritis in my right ankle. I literally feel your pain. I no longer talk about it, except if someone asks, because no one wants to hear about chronic pain. It’s depressing, and every morning…. well, you know. It’s very isolating in a way, not going on the long hikes with the fam, going on long shopping trips, extended cooking blah, blah BLAH! So while it’s NOT nice that you’re dealing with this, until now, I didn’t know anyone else with it. The only good things were learning to love riding my bike and lifting weights. Now, I look like I could kick someone’s ass, but only if they walk over to me! :)
    K, I’m done.
    I was thinking just yesterday I hadn’t seen any Cold Feet!
    Be well, and enjoy the season!

    • coldfeetstudio

      lol, that reminds me of a great Eddie Izzard clip.
      There’s a bit of swearing in it, but he’s my favourite.

      I know. I have been in pain with may ankles for years, and have had arthritis on and off, but only now have bothered to go to the doc for it. I’m thankful it’s not RA. My sister has had that since her early twenties :(

      • coldfeetstudio

        Oh, I thought it was just going to give you the link.
        Sorry if it offends anyone.

      • wiredweirdly

        I LOVE LOVE LOVE Eddie!!! He was here in June (the hubby and son went, not me, just a tad bitter) and he sprained his ankle the night before. He was all doped up and bummed he couldn’t wear his heels – quite ironic given that we’re talking about feet! Thanks for sharing the clip! Brightened my day!
        Yeah, RA is just horrible, and it can mess with so many different things. My 12YO niece has it.

      • coldfeetstudio

        I know! Did I mention he’s my favourite! I saw him about, I don’t know how many ages ago, but missed him last year when he was here. I laugh every time I see him.

  • watnenamels

    oh the aches and pains! i was in a motorcycle accident summer of 2013 and winter is going to be hard on the body! i do have a hot tub that helps after a long day in the studio! have a wonderful holiday! congrats on your goal of $$ i so admire your giving spirit!

    • coldfeetstudio

      I know. I suppose I’ll have to get used to it. Does Oregon get very cold?

      • watnenamels

        hi! just reading my post responses-it does get cold here-we had temps in the teens in november (rather unusual) and now its in the 50’s but snowing in the mts. i love it when it snows, i have all wheel drive subaru-that helps, the older i get the less i like temp extremes– have a wonderful warm xmas!

  • paula

    Such lovely pieces!! How did you get that patina on the copper piece? The color is fabulous!

    • coldfeetstudio

      I’m not sure if it’s the best way to do it, but I just heat it up with my torch until it’s glowing, just before melting point so you have to be careful, then I quench it straight away. It becomes this beautiful red colour. I’ve never had much luck any other way.

  • Patti Vanderbloemen

    Well, since you and I are the exact same age (not for long as I turn 54 next week), ANY AGE over 50 is the new 40! Arthritis is a dirty word in this house, too.

    Congratulations on your donations to date!!!! Hoping you have a wonderful visit with family for Christmas!

    PS – not much going on in the studio, eh? Your pics on this page are gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

