It’s here!

IMG_2684

And look.

The nice man gave me a fire red one just so I don’t forget each time I use it that I can blow up at any time.

Wasn’t that nice of him.

Actually Joe was very nice. He put my hose back on the tank for me even though he had to sign a waiver in the shop that if he exploded the company wasn’t to blame.

It’s not like the old days anymore when people just did things for other people with no thought of if they hurt their back, or blew up, etc. I do get it, but it’s a little sad that there are so many rules and regulations. We’ve kind of lost that human touch.

Joe hasn’t though :)

So I’m open for business again.

Which is great as I’ve had a little run of sales and have reached my $1,000 mark so I’ll be sending that off to Syria.

I’ve been struggling a little bit with if it’s worth it. If I’m being naive. But you know, I’m just not going to worry about it.

I’m on a mission and that’s that.

I want to share this video with you about the people who suffered the awful weather in Cornwall, U.K. in these past months.

To me this embodies the way I would choose to live.

If I wasn’t such a pessimist that is.

;)


About coldfeetstudio

I am English, but live in Houston, TX. I have a degree in Sculpture. I love to make art. I sell my art for charity as I believe there should be no reason for someone to go hungry in this world. I am a wife, mother, pottery maker, jewelry maker, quilt maker, painter, cat lover, and, dog liker. And I am very fortunate to be all these things. View all posts by coldfeetstudio

5 responses to “It’s here!

  • KerryCan

    Good news all the way around!

  • barb

    Funny. I bought my tank a few months ago. It sat in the garage for a few more weeks. I finally moved it to the studio, and there it has sat for the last 3 weeks. The regulators, hose and torch are sitting close by – but just haven’t wrapped my head around connecting it all. It’s absurd! Maybe I’ll go for it this weekend? Too bad Joe can’t stop by.
    (Love the video! The rain has been relentless. So sad, but love their spirit.)

    • coldfeetstudio

      Barb,

      I played it up a bit ;) I hope you’re not too put off by my drama queen take of it all. It does worry me, but this is my fourth tank, and whereas I really believe you should respect it at all times, it really is pretty straight forward. I seem to have survived so far.

      Just think, millions of people have propane tanks for barbecue grills in their back gardens, and a lot of people have huge ones that service their houses. Acetylene is not quite as stable as propane, but loads of jewelers and workshops have them.

      Here are a couple of articles. The first one is very easy to follow and she makes it very comfortable. Actually, the Ganoksin site seems to be very helpful all around.

      http://www.ganoksin.com/benchtube/video/756/Acetylene-Torch-Safety-and-Use-with-Jewelry-Arts-Institute

      http://www.ganoksin.com/borisat/nenam/set-up-your-torch.htm

      Let me know how it goes. I’ll be thinking of you :)

      (I could always ask if Joe will pop over.)

      Btw, are you English also. I ask because you mention the rain? The video was good wasn’t it. I’d love to live in a community like that.

      • barb

        Thanks for the articles and insight. I just need to do it. Have worked with the tanks and torches many times – but just not in my own space. Getting there! No, not English, but I travel to EU for business. I was in Dublin mid-February and got a big education from the news. Then learned about a colleague in the UK who personally had their home flooded. So devastating. I had no idea before my trip. Amazing that sort of news doesn’t easily make its way here. (I live in Charlotte, NC.). Hope your friends and family have escaped the damage.

Leave a comment